This recipe for paleo zucchini bread had a great flavor, but the texture in my version was off. My family grows our own zucchinis, but sometimes we miss one and the extra watering makes them HUGE and they have a lot of excess moisture. It took me almost 30 minutes to grate the zucchini because it was so large that it ended up making 2 loaves of zucchini bread. Although I tried to squeeze a lot of the moisture out, I should have used the nut milk bag I have to squeeze more of the zucchini water out because this bread turned out WET. I cooked it for almost twice the recommended amount of time until the top of the bread looked perfectly browned, but the inside was still very soggy. The flavor was a perfect combination of cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, and vanilla, but the texture was so off from normal bread that it was kind of hard to eat.

Next time for this recipe, I would make sure to squeeze the zucchini out with a nut milk bag to strain the liquid out and dry the zucchini out. If this has too much moisture, I could also dry out the zucchini by putting it in the oven at a low temperature for a short amount of time to evaporate some of the water. I would also speed up the time by using the food processor to blend up the zucchini rather than grating it by hand because that was very time consuming. Additionally, I made this without the nuts because my mom doesn’t like nuts, but for the added carbs I would include pecans or walnuts next time (probably pecans because I think they compliment a pumpkin flavor better).

Leave a Reply

